University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology
Université de Genève
Université Catholique de Louvain
Softissimo SA



  • University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST)
  • Department of Language Engineering

    UMIST’s department of language engineering is active in pure and applied research in various areas of language studies, linguistics, and computational linguistics. Besides training language engineers. The department also teaches foreign languages — in particular French — and thus offers specialists both in second language acquisition and computer assisted language learning.

    UMIST’s scientific contribution to the FreeText project is to create, gather, and pre-format the computer assisted language learning (CALL) content materials of the software. These materials will consist of (i) authentic documents, specifically created didactic materials, and exercises integrated into meaningful learning tasks within the planned CALL scenario, (ii) a linguistically motivated reference grammar (pre-formatting only), and (iii) additional exercises for revision and drill purposes.

    UMIST is the financial and administrative co-ordinator of the FreeText project.

    website : http://www.ccl.umist.ac.uk/

     

  • Université de Genève (UGEN)
  • Département de linguistique - LATL

    UGEN’s department of linguistics hosts centres for generative linguistics and natural language processing (NLP). Researchers working in the department are linguists, computational linguists, or computer scientists. Work in computational linguistics has lead to the creation of several NLP tools, for French, English, German and Italian, including a syntactic parser, a speech synthesiser, a sentence generator and a translator.

    As part of the FreeText project, UGEN will develop and/or adapt for CALL the NLP tools required by the communicative approach of the system, among which an error diagnosis system, a sentence structure viewer, and a speech synthesiser. UGEN will also write a linguistically motivated reference grammar to be integrated as part of the didactic material.

    UGEN is the scientific co-ordinator of the FreeText project.

    UGEN’s participation in the FreeText project is financially supported by the Swiss Federal Office for Education and Science.

    websites : http://www.unige.ch/lettres/linge/ and http://www.latl.unige.ch/

     

  • Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL)
  • Centre for English Corpus Linguistics

    UCL’s Centre for English Corpus Linguistics is a specialist research centre with two core areas of research activity: computer learner corpora, and English-French contrastive linguistics/translation studies. UCL is also working on French learner corpora and has successfully started to transfer the techniques developed for English language error corpus analysis to French.

    Within the FreeText project, UCL will collect and analyse an appropriate learner corpus of written French. The results of this analysis, including an error typology, will be used by UMIST to propose pertinent hypermedia links between the content materials and reference tools, and by UGEN for the development of the error diagnosis system. Moreover, UCL will take a very active part in software evaluation, analysing data collected while conducting tests on student populations.

    website : http://www.fltr.ucl.ac.be/FLTR/GERM/ETAN/CECL/cecl.html

     

  • Softissimo SA
  • For over ten years, Softissimo has edited, published and commercialised hypermedia software. Specialised in natural languages, the company offers a wide range of software from automated translation tools to multilingual dictionaries, spell and grammar checkers, and computer assisted language learning systems.

    Softissimo will contribute to the realisation of some of the NLP tools, but its main responsibilities in the FreeText project are the design and realisation of the software interface, the integration of the various components into a coherent and ergonomically sound CALL system, and the commercialisation of the end product.

    website : http://www.softissimo.com/



    Last modified: Monday, 13-Sep-2004 10:53:17 MEST, Webmaster

University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology
Université de Genève
Université Catholique de Louvain
Softissimo SA


  • University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST)
  • Department of Language Engineering

    Le département d’ingénierie de la langue de UMSIT est actif en recherche pure et appliquée dans des domaines variés de l’étude des langues, de la linguistique et de la linguistique-informatique. Formant des ingénieurs de la langue, le département enseigne également les langues étrangères —en particulier le français— et a donc à disposition aussi bien des spécialistes de l’acquisition des langues secondes que des spécialistes d’enseignement des langues assisté par ordinateur (ELAO).

    La contribution scientifique de UMIST au projet FreeText est de créer, de rassembler et de pré-formater les contenus didactiques du logiciel. Ces contenus seront composés (i) de documents authentiques, de matériel didactique créé spécifiquement pour le projet et d’exercices intégrés dans des tâches d’apprentissage selon le scénario d’ELAO prévu, (ii) une grammaire de référence linguistiquement motivée (pré-formatage uniquement), et (iii) des exercices de pratique et de révision supplémentaires.

    UMIST est le coordinateur financier et administratif du projet FreeText.


    site web : http://www.ccl.umist.ac.uk

     

  • Université de Genève (UGEN)
  • Département de linguistique - LATL

    Le département de linguistique de UGEN accueille un centre de linguistique générative et un laboratoire de traitement automatique du langage naturel (TALN). Les chercheurs du département sont des linguistes, des linguistes-informaticiens ou des ingénieurs en informatique. La recherche menée en linguistique-informatique a permis de créer plusieurs outils de TALN, pour le français, l’anglais, l’allemand et l’italien, dont un analyseur syntaxique, un synthétiseur vocal, un générateur de phrases et un système de traduction.

    Dans le cadre du projet FreeText, UGEN développera et/ou adaptera pour l’ELAO les outils de TALN nécessaires à l’approche communicative du système. Parmi ces outils se trouvent un système de diagnostic d’erreurs, un visualiseur de structures de phrases et un synthétiseur vocal. UGEN aura également la responsabilité de l’écriture d’une grammaire de référence linguistiquement motivée qui fera partie du matériel didactique.

    UGEN est le coordinateur scientifique du projet FreeText.

    Le soutient financier de la participation de UGEN au projet FreeText provient du gouvernement suisse, part l’intermédiaire de l’Office Fédéral de l’Education et de la Science.


    site web : http://www.unige.ch/lettres/linge/linge.html et http://www.latl.unige.ch/

     

  • Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL)
  • Centre for English Corpus Linguistics

    Le centre de linguistique de corpus de langue anglaise de l’UCL est un centre de recherche spécialisé sur deux domaines principaux : les corpus d’apprenants informatisés et les études comparatives français-anglais en linguistique et en traduction. UCL fait également de la recherche sur des corpus d’apprenants du français et a commencé avec succès à transférer, de l’anglais au français, les techniques développées pour l’analyse d’erreurs dans des corpus d’apprenants de l’anglais.

    Pour le projet FreeText, UCL récoltera et analysera des corpus écrits d’apprenants du français. Les résultats de ces analyses, y compris une typologie d’erreurs, seront utilisés par UMIST pour proposer des liens hypermédia appropriés entre les contenus didactiques du logiciel et les outils de référence, ainsi que par UGEN pour le développement du système de diagnostic d’erreurs. De plus, UCL prendra une part très active à l’évaluation du logiciel, en analysant des données récoltées lors de tests du logiciel sur des populations d’apprenants.


    site web : http://www.fltr.ucl.ac.be/FLTR/GERM/ETAN/CECL/cecl.html

     

  • Softissimo SA
  • Depuis plus de dix ans, Softissimo édite, publie et commercialise des logiciels hypermédia. Spécialiste des langues naturelles, la société propose une grande diversité de logiciels, depuis des outils de traduction automatisée à des dictionnaires multilingues, en passant par des vérificateurs orthographiques et grammaticaux et des systèmes d’ELAO.

    Softissimo contribuera à la réalisation de certains des outils de TALN, mais sa responsabilité première dans le projet FreeText sera le design et la réalisation de l’interface du logiciel, ainsi que l’intégration des différentes parties en un système d’ELAO cohérent et ergonomique. Softissimo commercialisera également le produit final.


    site web : http://www.softissimo.com/



    Dernière modification: Monday, 13-Sep-2004 11:42:50 MEST, Webmaster